Kharif and Rabi Crops – Tricks To Remember The List

Kharif and Rabi CropsThe crops across India are grown mainly in 2 crop seasons – Kharif and Rabi. There are 5 crops mainly grown during Rabi and 7 crops during Kharif.

The terms ‘kharif’ and ‘rabi’ originate from Arabic language where Kharif means autumn and Rabi means spring.


Months –

Rabi Crop Months – October-March (Winter)

Kharif Crop Months – July – October ( July –October ) – South-West Monsoon

Note : The crops grown between March and June are summer crops.

Kharif Crops Rabi Crop
Rice Wheat
Maize Barley
Sorghum Oats (cereals)
Pearl Millet/Bajra Chickpea/gram (pulses)
Finger Millet/ragi (cereals) Mustard (oilseeds) etc.
Arhar (pulses)
Groundnut (oilseeds)
Jute & Mesta

Tricks to remember the crop


K comes alphabetically before R, so remember Kharif Crops are Sowed before Rabi Crops.

Kharif has R in the word, remember that for Rainy Season.

RABI – RS – S comes immediately after R in the alphabetically order – So, S is for Summer.


Related Posts
If you are an Civils Service aspirant for UPSC Civils Exam then this book is highly useful in knowing all the news and events that made headlines in INDIA during ...
India Year Book 2008 For Civil Service Aspirants

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.